top of page

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow

PSA Celebrating Would-Be Mothers


Photo: YouTube

Most people don't know this but, I had an abortion in 2013. It was the hardest thing I've ever experienced, and I've been through severe life storms.

I was in a seven year relationship with someone, but I broke it off in 2009. A few years after the breakup we were still seeing each other off and on. This led to a pregnancy. At the time, I thought I wasn't financially capable of caring for a child and there was no way in hell I was going to let my child suffer in a low-income household. I wanted more for this baby, but I knew how life would be if I chose to have it.

I didn't talk to anyone bout this, other than the potential baby's father. He felt the same way I felt which made the choice to have an abortion easier. I was certain this was the right thing to do. But what I failed to realize, though I was blindly convinced I was ready, was the fact that I truly wasn't.

I came out of the termination process feeling exhausted and ashamed. At the time, I was heavily into church, yet that didn't make matters any easier. I wanted to tell my parents about being pregnant, but I couldn't face their judgement. They were extremely strict when it came to raising their 8 children. I felt ridiculously alone.

I realize now that I was wrong to take my parents' grandchild and my siblings' niece or nephew away from them. I know what's done is done, but I have acknowledged that this choice was something I was not prepared for and will never make again.

I've decided to break my silence by creating this video celebrating Would-Be Moms who've experienced a miscarriage, birth complication or a regrettable abortion.

WATCH PSA

 

If you’re in need of empowering words to get you through something, whether positive or not, feel free to check out one of my old clients I performed social media management for, of whom I still support, Facebook.com/LyratreeMusic [website unlisted]— a place where you can go to hear lyrical and musical messages that will resonate with their particular life happening, situation or mood.

 

You rock for reading this post! Thank you. We love you!

Mar's Motto:

"Darling, BE DARING! Step outside of your comfort zone and you'll accomplish great things."

Share this story today!

Thanks for visiting!
RECENT POSTS
Martine On The Scene

Hey beautiful people! It's ya gurl Martine "On The Scene" St. Hilaire. I'm a rising journalist creating my own rules in the industry of media communications. Here you'll find my love for culture, art, music, fashion, entertainment and, of course, interviews. You can schedule an interview with me by clicking here.

LIKE! FOLLOW! SUBSCRIBE!

  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Tumblr - White Circle

I’M ALWAYS HAPPY

TO GET TO KNOW MY READERS AND SHARE INSIGHTS AND IDEAS. 

 

DROP A LINE 

Success! Message received.

FEATURED POSTS

bottom of page