top of page

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow

Soulfood and Lemonade Podcast • Sharing My Story with Delroy Souden

Screenshot from Episode 80: Martine St. Hilaire Celebrates Life After Alcoholism


On April 11th, I shared my journey to sobriety with my subscribers. That post was one of the most vulnerable pieces I’ve ever written. It wasn’t easy to share it but ‘m glad I did. I found out that it was well-received and I hope it encouraged someone who was struggling with substance abuse issues. This time around, I got even more practice sharing my story. I had the honor and privilege to express my journey verbally with one of my college friends, Delroy Souden, who has a successful podcast called Soulfood and Lemonade on YouTube.


WATCH A CLIP OF THE EPISODE


Delroy is an amazing digital media professional. He and I both went to Full Sail University to obtain our Media Communications Bachelor’s Degree (MCBS). We graduated at the same time. Sharing that pivotal matriculation time together was very special to me, especially since we were older than most of the students. He doesn’t know it but he motivated me to keep going despite our age gaps with the other classmates. We dominated our courses, which makes us so proud. Like school, working with Delroy on his podcast was an absolute blast. We are both busy individuals so we had to coordinate multiple times to try to pick the right time for us to shoot Episode 80. He was professional, pleasant and charismatic which just made the entire process a breeze. Talking about personal milestones like quitting alcohol is never easy, but Delroy knew exactly how to make me feel comfortable enough to express myself and share my story that I hope you enjoy.


WATCH FULL EPISODE


After watching this special episode, I hope you find it inspirational. And, please share it with anyone you know going through a hard time with wanting to quit drugs or alcohol (or both) or overcome mental issues like depression and anxiety. Delroy even shared a bit about his experience with drugs, which you won’t want to miss out on. If you’ve got about 40 minutes to spare, grab a snack and thank you in advance for watching.


To anyone out there struggling with alcohol or drug abuse, just know that you are not alone. And that help is out there where ever you turn. You just can’t be afraid to ask for it. And life is so much more beautiful than the darkness in which you have been living.


I’m grateful for my sobriety. I’m honored to have renewed my vows with Jesus Christ by getting baptized on March 25, 2023 (see my Instagram post below). And now, I’m grateful for my life because it’s one that’s worth living. – Martine


 

I love you for reading this post. Thank you!

Light + Love,

Martine On The Scene
We do so much more when we work together.

Mar's Motto:

"Darling, BE DARING! Step outside of your comfort zone and you'll accomplish great things."

Connect with me on social media! I’m pretty much everywhere. Visit my list of links here.


Share this story today!

Thanks for visiting!
RECENT POSTS
Martine On The Scene

Hey beautiful people! It's ya gurl Martine "On The Scene" St. Hilaire. I'm a rising journalist creating my own rules in the industry of media communications. Here you'll find my love for culture, art, music, fashion, entertainment and, of course, interviews. You can schedule an interview with me by clicking here.

LIKE! FOLLOW! SUBSCRIBE!

  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Tumblr - White Circle

I’M ALWAYS HAPPY

TO GET TO KNOW MY READERS AND SHARE INSIGHTS AND IDEAS. 

 

DROP A LINE 

Success! Message received.

FEATURED POSTS

bottom of page